At the Law Office of Louis G. DeAngelis, LLC, clients can expect tenacious and serious legal support in the face of whatever criminal charge they are facing. The firm cares about results and satisfying the needs of its clients. Attorney Louis G. DeAngelis will fight tirelessly in your corner to protect your rights. Whether you are facing DWI charges, drug distribution accusations, or domestic violence allegations, the Law Office of Louis G. DeAngelis, LLC can provide you the legal guidance you need.
Driving While Intoxicated
New Jersey prohibits the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence or with a BAC of .08% or greater. Note that a vehicle owner can also get a DWI conviction for merely permitting an intoxicated person to operate the owner’s vehicle.
The penalties for a first offense are up to 30 days in jail, $250-$400 in fines, 12-48 hours in the state’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) Program, and license revocation for 3 months. All DWI convictions also require offenders to participate in a drug and alcohol screening and evaluation and complete treatment recommendations through the IDRC.
The statutory limitations for DWI penalties depend on whether the offense is a first, second, or third offense. Note that an incident that occurs more than 10 years after a first offense will be penalized as a first offense, and a third offense where none of the priors were within the last 10 years will be penalized as a second offense.
Following a first offense, penalties for a second offense could be a combination of the following:
- 48 hours to 90 days in jail;
- $500 to $1,000 in fines;
- completion of the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) Program;
- 2-year license revocation; and
- 30 days of community service.
For a third offense, the defendant could incur:
- 180 days in jail;
- $1,000 in fines;
- completion of the IDRC program;
- 10 years of license revocation; and
- up to 90 days of community service (counts towards jail term).
Drug Distribution Crimes
The crime of distribution in New Jersey can refer to trafficking large amounts of drugs across state lines or national borders, transporting drugs from a safe house to the point of sale, or selling directly to buyers. In New Jersey, individuals can even be charged with drug distribution merely for the intent to do so. Under the state statute, it is unlawful for any person knowingly or purposely to:
- manufacture, distribute or dispense, or possess or under their control with intent to manufacture or distribute or dispense a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog; or
- create, distribute, or possess or have under their control with intent to distribute a counterfeit controlled dangerous substance.
Drug distribution offenses are classified according to the type of substance and amount allegedly distributed, including the weight of any adulterants or dilutants.
The classifications for a heroin- or cocaine-related charge are:
- 5 oz. or more – first degree crime punishable by 10-20 years in prison
- 0.5 oz. to 5 oz. – second degree offense punishable by 5-10 years in prison
- Less than 0.5 oz. – third degree crime punishable by 3-5 years in prison
The classification for marijuana includes:
- 25 lbs. or more, 50 or more plants, or more than 5 lbs. of hashish/concentrate: first degree crime punishable by 10-20 years in prison and/or $300,000 in fines
- 5 lbs. to 25 lbs., 10-50 plants, or 1 lb. to 5 lbs. of hashish/concentrate – second degree offense punishable by 5-10 years in jail and/or $150,000 in fines
- 1 oz. to 5 lbs. or 5 g. to 1 lbs. of hashish/concentrate – third degree crime carrying 3-5 years in prison and/or $25,000 in fines
- Less than 1 oz. or less than 5 g. of hashish/concentrate – fourth degree crime punishable by 1.5 years in jail and/or $25,000 in fines
It is important to understand and protect your rights by talking with a criminal defense lawyer. The longer you wait, the more your case is at risk. We will help you uncover and preserve the evidence you need to defend yourself against criminal charges.
Louis DeAngelis represented me in a few different cases with respect and professionalism. All the cases ended exactly the way they told me.- P.L.M.
For over 10 years I have used him for countless cases always with great satisfaction. On more than 10 occasions he has helped me resolve many different situations.- Z.A.
If you are in search of not only a great lawyer but a great person, Louis DeAngelis is the one! From the moment I contacted him about a car accident, he was professional and compassionate and kept me calm.- K.G.
If Louis takes your case, it is because he is confident that he can defend you and he will give you the best representation for your issue.- D.S.
Excellent in every way and I was not an easy client. So skilled and educated 1st class!!!!!! I was shocked at how well my ...- H.P.
I chose Louis Deangelis because he stood out amongst his competition in Bergen County. He was extremely thorough and ...- M.A.
The Law Office of Louis DeAngelis was an absolute pleasure to work with. The efficiency and speed with which this office ...- R.L.
Great service all around. Knows and understands the system and will treat you always as a first-class client. FIRST CLASS ...- A.O.
Accused of Domestic Violence?
Let Our Firm Help You
New Jersey defines domestic violence as the commission of one of the following acts committed by an adult or emancipated minor against another person:
To meet the state’s definition of domestic violence, one of the above criminal offenses must be committed against a person who is:
- a current or former spouse who is 18 or older or is an emancipated minor;
- a current or former household member who is 18 or older or is an emancipated minor;
- a person with whom the perpetrator has a child or is expecting a child, regardless of the alleged victim’s age; or
- a person with whom the defendant has had a dating relationship.
Note that a victim of domestic violence may file a complaint with the court seeking protection from the alleged offender. If the court determines that the plaintiff proved the allegations in the complaint, the terms of the order will establish terms prohibiting contact between the alleged victim and the defendant, among other guidelines.
If a person knowingly violates a term of a domestic violence restraining order, they are guilty of criminal contempt, a fourth degree crime punishable by up to 18 months in prison and a $10,000 fine, though prison time is not mandatory for a first conviction of violating a restraining order.
What is a Defense Attorney?
A criminal defense attorney is a legal professional who specializes in defending individuals facing criminal charges. These lawyers work to protect the rights of their clients by providing legal advice, representing them during legal proceedings such as trials and hearings, and protect their rights throughout the entire process.
The following are the main duties of criminal defense attorneys:
- Provide advice and guidance on pre-trial matters such as bail hearings, plea bargains, and evidence gathering
- Prepare a strong defense strategy for the client based on an analysis of all relevant legal documents related to the case
- Investigate all available witnesses and evidence that can prove their client’s innocence or weaken the prosecution's case against the.
- Negotiate with prosecutors on behalf of their clients in order to reduce charges or seek alternative sentences such as rehabilitation programs in lieu of serving jail time
- Present arguments at trial, defending their client's innocence while simultaneously questioning any witnesses called by the prosecution
- Help appeal case, if necessary, by filing papers with higher courts in hopes of reversing decisions made at lower levels
Let Attorney Louis G. DeAngelis Defend You
If you are facing criminal charges, seek an attorney immediately for legal counsel. Whether you have been accused of DWI, drug distribution, or domestic violence, the Law Office of Louis G. DeAngelis, LLC can defend you. Attorney Louis G. DeAngelis will put his experience to use in your case.