How Serious Is A Repeat Offense DWI?

More Than One DWI Is An Extremely Serious Situation

It is widely known that being accused of, arrested for or charged with DWI (driving while intoxicated) is a very serious offense. However, some individuals are faced with these issues a second or third time, or even more. Our Englewood-based firm, the Law Office of Louis G. DeAngelis, LLC, is here to help provide information and guidance on just how serious a repeat offense DWI is.

Drunk driving has numerous consequences – legal, monetary and personal. But it is important to fully understand the impact that will be made on your life if you are charged with more DWIs after your first. Since we focus exclusively on the area of criminal defense, we are fluent in the language of the New Jersey laws that govern drunk driving charges. We take the time to sit down with each client in order to evaluate their case and determine the best way in which to approach the matter. Our firm tailors the approach to the wishes and goals of our client.

Consequences For A Repeat DWI Conviction

If you are convicted on a second or third DWI traffic offense, you are facing a range of penalties, including:

  • Loss of your driver’s license for a minimum of two years and up to 10 years
  • Fines of up to $1,000
  • Jail time of up to 180 days

The above consequences are for second and third time DWI convictions. With each additional conviction, you are facing more severe consequences, such as increased fines, increased jail time, required alcohol treatment, required community service and more. Plus, these convictions may remain visible on your driving record for as long as you have a driver’s license.

Also, it is important to note that as of November of 2019, all individuals convicted of a DWI will be required to have an ignition interlock system installed in their vehicles. This system tests one’s breath for the presence of alcohol and, if the blood alcohol content is detected above .05, will prevent the vehicle from starting. While this is the same for first, second and subsequent repeat offenders, the ignition interlock device stays installed for the entirety of the time that your license is suspended. You also are required to pay for this, so the longer it is installed, the more money it will cost you.

Take Action Today To Protect Your Rights

Contact our law firm by calling (201) 630-0582 or send us an email today. We confidently handle repeat DWI cases in Bergen County and throughout New Jersey.